Chat with us,powered by LiveChat

Senate Republicans and Democrats held leadership elections for the 116th Congress Wednesday. Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) and Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) will keep their roles.

Senate Majority Whip John Cornyn (R-TX) is term-limited; his post will be filled by Sen. John Thune (R-SD). Sen. Todd Young (R-IN) is expected to chair the National Republican Senatorial Committee (NRSC), the Senate GOP’s campaign arm.

Sen. Joni Ernst (R-IA) will join the Senate GOP leadership as vice chairman of the Senate Republican Conference, winning the race for the No. 5 spot over Sen. Deb Fischer (R-NE).

The Democratic leadership did not change. Democrats left their meeting without electing a leader for the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee (DSCC), but Sen. Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) is the likely pick.

Leadership Connect

Leadership Connect

Founded by two former S&P 500 CEOs and a presidential press secretary, Leadership Connect operates at the intersection of government, business, and media. We are a people intelligence service for over 4,000 clients seeking to develop business or influence senior and mid-level decision makers. As a 50-year old startup, we use a mix of human curation and advanced technology to provide the highest quality data via the web, mobile devices, and CRM systems.