Chat with us,powered by LiveChat

Ben Ray Lujan

While it will not be clear until January which party will hold majority control of the Senate, the leadership structure in each party will remain largely unchanged.  

According to his spokesman, David Popp, Sen. Mitch McConnell (R-KY) was unanimously reelected to his position of the Senate Republican Leader, continuing his streak as the longest serving GOP leader in the Senate. This stability pervaded throughout leadership elections, with the only role change seen being Sen. Rick Scott (R-FL) taking over as chair of the National Republican Senatorial Committee (NRSC), which functions as the campaign arm for the Senate Republican Party. This position was previously held by Sen. Todd Young (R-IN).  

Sen. Chuck Schumer (D-NY) was also reelected to his position as Senate Democratic Leader, his third term in this position. Sens. Cory Booker (D-NJ) and Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) will join Schumer’s leadership team as vice chair of the Policy and Communications Committee and vice chair of Outreach, respectively. With Masto’s new role, a vacancy was created in the chair position for the Democratic Senatorial Campaign Committee, the campaign arm for the Senate Democratic Party. A chair has not yet been chosen for this position, but newly elected Sen. Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM) seems to be a likely candidate.  

Here is a full breakdown of the leadership positions for the U.S. Senate:  

Republican Party:  

Leader – Senator Mitch McConnell (R-KY) 

Whip – Senator John Thune (R-SD)  

Conference Chairman – Senator John Barrasso (R-WY) 

Policy Committee Chair – Senator Roy Blunt (R-MO) 

Vice Chair of the GOP Conference – Senator Joni Ernst (R-Iowa)  

Chair of the National Republican Senatorial Committee – Senator Rick Scott (R-FL)  

Democratic Party: 

Leader  Senator Chuck Schumer (D-NY)  

Whip – Senator Dick Durbin (D-IL)  

Assistant Democratic Leader – Senator Pat Murray (D-WA) 

Chair of the Policy and Communications Committee – Senator Debbie Stabenow (D-MI) 

Vice Chair of the Policy and Communications Committee – Senator Corey Booker (D-NJ) 

Vice Chair of the Policy and Communications Committee – Senator Joe Manchin (D-WV) 

Chair of Outreach – Senator Bernie Sanders (I-VT) 

Vice Chair of Outreach – Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) 

Vice Chair of the Democratic Conference – Senator Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) 

Vice Chair of the Democratic Conference – Senator Mark Warner (D-VA) 

Chair of the Steering Committee – Senator Amy Klobuchar (DFL-MN) 

Secretary of the Conference – Senator Tammy Baldwin (D-WI) 

Grace Burton

Grace Burton

Research Analyst