Chat with us,powered by LiveChat

Senate Minority Leader Chuck Schumer (D-NY) announced the Senate Democrats’ committee lineup for the next Congress.

Sens.-elect Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ) and Jacky Rosen (D-NV) will join the Senate Homeland Security and Senate Commerce Committees, replacing Claire McCaskill (D-MO) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND). Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV) will serve on the Committee on Finance next year, and she will have the rare honor of serving on both the Senate Banking and Senate Finance Committees. For the Committee on Armed Services, Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Doug Jones (D-AL), and Joe Manchin (D-WV) will join next month replacing Joe Donnelly (D-IN), Claire McCaskill (D-MO), and Bill Nelson (D-FL), who all lost their reelection buds. Kamala Harris (D-CA) will continue to serve on the Judiciary Committee. It was unclear whether Harris, who is mulling a run for President in 2020, would be able to keep her spot on the influential committee since Republicans gained several seats in the midterm elections.

Click here to view the Democratic Committee Memberships for the 116th Congress.

Alex Kraynak

Alex Kraynak

Congressional Team Leader